Mercedes G 63 AMG 6×6

Share Button

The sports version of the G-Class is already a gross beautiful, but here, as they read on 6 WD, all-terrain Mercedes-Benz becomes an unusual Machine, targeting the Middle East dune climbers.

With 6 drive wheels and a motor 544 horses, this Mercedes G 63 AMG 6×6 Is it still a car ?

2013-mercedes-benz-g63-am_800x0w

Dune

No need to look G-Class in France, our country is not at the target of this luxury all-terrain Mercedes-Benz signed, with only a few dozen copies sold annually. Even less in his sporting delivered AMG, but the “G” is popular with the Middle East, where the off-road capabilities, luxury, and the outrageous side make it a must have for any rich emirate. Especially for them, the German manufacturer offers their ultimate version… to 6 WD.

Sport Truck…

Obviously, it is very difficult to place this device in the cars category. First, a light vehicle is determined by the limit of 3,5 tonnes, right here, this G-Class weighs no less than 3,85 tonnes. To take the beast 5,87 meters to AMG performance worthy, is borrowed from the engine of the G version 63, be the 5,5 V8 biturbo liters 544 horses and 760 Nm. Enough to burn wheel 37 inch at startup ! Technically, the front axle is recovered from the armored version, the first rear axle has highly strengthened springs, the second is equipping more flexible settings. For amortization, gas canisters (visible under the wheel arches), allow adjustable positions. By cons it will do with only 160 km / h in peak.

…and luxury truck !

Like all Mercedes flanked AMG sports badge, this G 63 AMG 6×6 inherits an interior treatment redolent luxury, brand even comparing it to that of an S-Class. The design is very rough-hewn, gold leather clothe almost the entire dashboard, with some carbon fiber inserts, the 4 leather seats are ventilated and heated. another detail, the dump is covered with bamboo.

The Mercedes-Benz G 63 AMG 6×6, here present in the first two copies, will return in small series (30 units around), each piece costing 400.000 euros.

Source of MYTF1 : Mercedes G 63 AMG 6×6 : the 6 wheels marketed !

Some proprietary technical details

The chassis of the Mercedes-Benz G 63 AMG 6×6 is based on a patent “Christian de Leotard” for Peugeot P4 and the G-Class Mercedes. Mercedes uses the rights in an agreement that dates back 1980 between the two parts. It is the same for the remote system of wheels of their prominent axis on the images. Mercedes A recognition for the undisputed Master 6 wheels France.

(Image credit http://www.topspeed.com)

2013-mercedes-benz-g63-am-4_800x0w 2013-mercedes-benz-g63-am-7_800x0w 2013-mercedes-benz-g63-am-5_800x0w

 

2013-mercedes-benz-g63-amw

Mercedes-Benz G63 AMG 6x6 Showcar, Dubai 2013 Mercedes-Benz G63 AMG 6x6 Showcar, Dubai 2013 Mercedes-Benz G63 AMG 6x6 Showcar, Dubai 2013 Mercedes-Benz G63 AMG 6x6 Showcar, Dubai 2013 Mercedes-Benz G63 AMG 6x6 Showcar, Dubai 2013 Mercedes-Benz G63 AMG 6x6 Showcar, Dubai 2013

 

 

Marc

Founder of mm2 France, oto6, then from Sixmania. The 6 wheels and more have always been a passion for me. It started in 1980 thanks to a certain Christian de Léotard, you know ?

3 thoughts on “Mercedes G 63 AMG 6×6

  1. For Christian de Leotard,
    The principle of raising the wheels via this system it is valid :
    – only for rigid axles Mercedes
    – suitable for any type of rigid bridge : Jeep, land rover, Land Cruiser… ?
    – certain types of independent suspension

    Good Sunday and Happy Easter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Mercedes G 63 AMG 6×6

Share Button

La version sportive de la Classe G est déjà une belle brute, mais ici, dans sa version à 6 roues motrices, le tout-terrain Mercedes-Benz devient une machine insolite, ciblant les grimpeurs de dunes du Moyen-Orient.

Avec 6 roues motrices et un moteur de 544 chevaux, ce Mercedes G 63 AMG 6×6 est-elle toujours une voiture ?

2013-mercedes-benz-g63-am_800x0w

Dune

Inutile de chercher des Classe G en France, notre pays n’est aucunement la cible de ce tout-terrain de luxe signée Mercedez-Benz, avec seulement quelques dizaines d’exemplaires écoulés chaque année. Encore moins dans sa livrée sportive AMG, mais le « G » est très prisé par les pays du Moyen-Orient, où les capacités tout-terrain, le luxe, et le côté outrageux en font un must have pour tout riche des émirats. Spécialement pour eux, le constructeur allemand leur propose une version ultime… à 6 roues motrices.

Camion de sport…

Evidemment, il est très difficile de placer cet engin dans la catégorie des voitures. Premièrement, un véhicule léger est déterminé par la limite de 3,5 tonnes, ici, ce Classe G pèse pas moins de 3,85 tonnes. Pour emmener la bête de 5,87 mètres à des performances dignes d’AMG, est emprunté le moteur de la version G 63, soit le 5,5 litres V8 biturbo de 544 chevaux et 760 Nm. De quoi faire cramer les roues de 37 pouces au démarrage ! Techniquement, l’essieu avant est récupéré de la version blindée, le premier essieu arrière dispose de ressorts fortement raffermis, le second s’équipant de réglages plus souples. Pour l’amortissement, des bonbonnes de gaz (bien visibles sous les passages de roues), permettent des positions ajustables. Par contre il faudra faire avec seulement 160 km/h en pointe.

…et camion de luxe !

Comme toute Mercedes flanquée du badge sportif AMG, ce G 63 AMG 6×6 hérite d’un traitement intérieur fleurant bon le luxe, la marque le comparant même à celui d’une Classe S. Le dessin reste très taillé à la serpe, or le cuir revête quasiment toute la planche de bord, avec quelques inserts en fibre de carbone, les 4 sièges à sellerie cuir étant ventilés et chauffants. Autre détail, la benne est recouverte de bambou.

Ce Mercedes-Benz G 63 AMG 6×6, ici présent dans ces deux premiers exemplaires, rentrera en toute petite série (30 unités environ), chaque pièce coûtant 400.000 euros.

Source sur MYTF1 : Mercedes G 63 AMG 6×6 : le 6 roues commercialisé !

Quelques détails techniques exclusifs

Le châssis du Mercedes-Benz G 63 AMG 6×6 est basé sur un brevet « Christian de Léotard » pour le P4 Peugeot et le Classe G Mercedes. Mercedes en utilise les droits sur un accord qui date des années 1980 entre les deux parties. Il en est de même pour le système de roues déportées de leur axe bien visible sur les photos suivantes. Une reconnaissance de Mercedes pour le Maître incontesté des 6 roues en France.

(crédit images http://www.topspeed.com)

2013-mercedes-benz-g63-am-4_800x0w 2013-mercedes-benz-g63-am-7_800x0w 2013-mercedes-benz-g63-am-5_800x0w

 

2013-mercedes-benz-g63-amw

Mercedes-Benz G63 AMG 6x6 Showcar, Dubai 2013 Mercedes-Benz G63 AMG 6x6 Showcar, Dubai 2013 Mercedes-Benz G63 AMG 6x6 Showcar, Dubai 2013 Mercedes-Benz G63 AMG 6x6 Showcar, Dubai 2013 Mercedes-Benz G63 AMG 6x6 Showcar, Dubai 2013 Mercedes-Benz G63 AMG 6x6 Showcar, Dubai 2013

 

 

Marc

Fondateur de mm2 France, oto6, puis de Sixmania. Les 6 roues et plus ont toujours été une passion pour moi. Elle a débutée en 1980 grâce à un certain Christian de Léotard, vous connaissez ?

3 commentaires sur “Mercedes G 63 AMG 6×6

  1. Pour Christian de Leotard,
    Le principe de rehausser les roues via ce système est-il valable :
    – uniquement pour les ponts rigides Mercedes
    – adaptables sur tout type de pont rigide : Jeep, land rover, Land Cruiser… ?
    – certains types de suspension indépendante

    Bon dimanche et Joyeuses Fêtes de Pâques

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.